Robert Hight wins Mile-High Nationals

Photo Credit: Gary Nastase and Auto Imagery

MORRISON, Colo. (July 23) – Quick facts following Auto Club of Southern California Chevrolet Camaro SS driver Robert Hight's victory in the Mile-High Nationals on Sunday at Bandimere Speedway: 

  • This is Hight's 38th career NHRA Funny Car victory in his 60th final. He has at least one victory in each of his 13 seasons on the circuit.

  • Hight has one victory in three final-round appearances in 2017.

  • Prior to Sunday's race, Hight's most recent victory came in Gainesville, Fla., in 2016.

  • Hight defeated Tommy Johnson Jr. in the finals. He is now 16-11 against Johnson and 3-0 in final rounds.

  • Hight's last victory against Johnson came in the second round at Englishtown earlier this season.

  • This marks Hight's fourth victory at Denver in his fourth final. He is now 29-9 in elimination round races at Denver.

  • The victory was the 249th Funny Car victory for John Force Racing.

  • Hight's victory marks the 253rd overall victory for John Force racing (249 Funny Car, four Top Fuel).

  • Hight won the race from the No. 3 qualifying position. It marks the ninth victory for Hight in 12 finals after qualifying No. 3.


About John Force Racing


John Force Racing, Inc., based in Yorba Linda, Calif., and Brownsburg, Ind., is a professional sports dynasty, one that has earned 18 NHRA championships and claimed 253 professional victories in Funny Car (249) and Top Fuel (4). Led by team owner and driver John Force, a 16-time Funny Car Champion, 1996 Driver of the Year for all of American motor racing, 2011 International Motorsports Hall of Fame inductee, and driver of the PEAK Coolant and Motor Oil Chevrolet Camaro SS Funny Car, JFR is additionally comprised of Auto Club of Southern California Chevrolet Camaro SS driver Robert Hight, 2009 Funny Car champion and 2005 NHRA Rookie of the Year; Advance Auto Parts Chevrolet Camaro SS driver Courtney Force, 2012 NHRA Rookie of the Year; and Monster Energy Top Fuel Dragster driver Brittany Force, 2013 NHRA Rookie of the Year. For more information, please visit